Sherlock: The Final Problem | Thoughts on Season 4 + Another Hiatus (?)

Do I have to say this again?

Jeez.

All right then.

WARNING: This post contains MASSIVE (and by MASSIVE I mean MASSIVE FOR REAL [gonna fanboy a lot]) spoilers about Sherlock’s episode: The Final Problem. If you haven’t watched the episode yet, get the **** out of here. 

Ahh Sherlock’s season finale. I had the fortune of watching at the same time it was being broadcasted at the U.K. since they cut the final 10 minutes of the episode here at the BBC’s official channel.

Whoops xD 

Right so the episode begins with this little girl who (omg that’s Eurus) is on a plane about to crash, and she gets a call. And the one who is making the call is dun dun dun Jim Moriarty AHHHHHHHH!!!!!! And then of course, our lovely intro.

Anyway, I’m going to start with what were my expectations on this season.
First of all, when I saw the trailer that was released last year on Comic Con, I thought “hey! Maybe we can finally discover how Moriarty did all these stuff on the past series! An explanation of how he was getting ready to catch Sherlock and how he was one step ahead”. Well, I technically found out how, Eurus.

But what caught my attention was the name “Sherrinford”. The planned name for Sherlock Sir Arthur Conan Doyle made before using his actual name, the name which was later used on non-canon stories for a third Holmes brother. Plus, the names “Smith” and “Thatcher”.

Turns out “Thatcher” was indeed a very good hint for the fans, since they knew which story the chapter would be based on (the weird thing is that there are two “The Six Thatchers” stories in the Sherlock canon now but meh). But we later found out The Six Thatchers would reveal a very important part of Mary’s past, as member of AGRA (another reference, this time to the Agra treasure in The Sign of Four), which we previously thought was the name of Mary, since she told John that on His Last Vow.

Then the name Smith, obviously a reference to Culverton Smith, the villain of the short story “The Dying Detective” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and, may I say, one of my favorite stories. You can notice that when the name “Smith” was revealed I was very excited.

Turns out I was right! That picture was John watching Sherlock pretending to be dying (as mentioned on So… Sherrinford?). This time doing it in a modern and brilliant way. Amazing job Steven Moffat. The Lying Detective became my favorite episode of the entire Sherlock series. 

But the most shocking part was the ending, when finally Eurus Holmes made her appearence, revealing how she fooled Sherlock and John days before. Although, what was Sherrinford then?

Well, last Sunday we got to find out Sherrinford was actually the place were Mycroft kept Eurus, because of some crazy stuff the naughty girl did when the Holmes siblings were children.

This time Eurus revealed how she helped Jim Moriarty with his business with Sherlock, and also played a game with him, Mycroft and John on Sherrinford. The final problem. Where they would be forced to solve and save people. Although it wouldn’t be that easy…

Yes, that sentence which killed us on the teaser posted by the BBC one month before the episode, was actually a sentence for Molly. (See I love you).

My poor Molly 😥  I’m so glad she didn’t die. That would’ve killed me— 

ANYWAY.

The way Eurus played with Sherlock was indeed interesting and great. Plus the reference to the short story The Musgrave Ritual which on the Sherlock canon meant the death of Redbeard which wasn’t actually Sherlock’s dog but his best friend.

Yes, Eurus Holmes was a very bad girl.

And even though half the episode felt rushed, and even though there are tons (TONS [my friend included]) of people who disliked the episode, I’ve got to say the ending was amazing.

As my mother would say, every good or bad person had that moment on their life which made them the people they are today. And of course that was the case of Eurus. A problematic sibling relationship.

Still though, how did she manage to talk to Sherlock via security cameras while pretending to be a little girl on a plane? (Unless of course those were also recordings, like the ones Moriarty did before he died).

Yes, Eurus was the person in charge of the Miss Me? recordings.

The P.S. recording of Mary felt like too much. The episode would’ve worked out better without it. But it showed us how the Baker Street boys were back, with more cases to solve and the toddler Watson, Rosemund.

The Adventure of the Dancing Men, another wink to Sherlock fans. 

This was a very good finale for the season, and also, a finale for the show.

I mean, of course there are lots of other stories that are left, about Sherlock getting older, him beekeeping, or his house on the countryside…

But I feel like the show would just stop having that special tasting it has left on us, Sherlockians. I don’t like the idea of another season of Sherlock.

Although, another special, like The Abominable Bride, released years later to show us how Sherlock and John are still playing their game, wouldn’t be bad. A special episode. Just that. Not a bad idea. Anyway, even if another hiatus is coming or not, the decision will be taken by the Sherlock crew.

I just have to say this was the best way to end the show (at least it was for me), and of course, in the 150th anniversary of A Study in Scarlet. Sherlock has become one of my favorite TV shows, and it’s very special to not just me, but for millions of fans over the world.

Now if we could go to Speedy’s and order some sandwhiches, that would be great. I’m starving.

The sky is the start line.

~Antonio

P.S. Happy Blog Anniversary to me! xD

18 thoughts on “Sherlock: The Final Problem | Thoughts on Season 4 + Another Hiatus (?)

  1. sfcamster January 17, 2017 / 8:39 pm

    My favorite conclusion to Sherlock was in a movie. Absolutely amazing: Keep going to different parts if you want. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • OY30 January 17, 2017 / 9:36 pm

      Sorry man but that ending is already on Sherlock :v

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Luna January 17, 2017 / 3:33 am

    but when eurus told him to touch the glass and tHERE WAS NO GLASS WTF

    tbh i think this was a decent ending, if it is. cuz like there’s no way to add more drama to it because all the moriarty stuff is basically done, and if they tried to just introduce another character or dramatic thing it would sorta be like ‘oh ffs really’

    EITHER WAY I WILL CONTINUE TO FANGIRL.

    Liked by 1 person

    • OY30 January 17, 2017 / 2:46 pm

      YES IKR
      And yeah the Moriarty stuff is pretty much over.
      Or is it?

      Like

  3. P.J. January 17, 2017 / 2:14 am

    I can’t agree with you there that this should be the end of Sherlock… this series left me feeling… unfulfilled. I would be disappointed if that was the end of Sherlock forever. I feel like this show still has lots to offer, even if that means giving it 5+ years until we see Sherlock and John again, so the characters and the narrative have time and space to grow offscreen. And I REALLY want to know what happens to Irene Adler because I want her and Sherlock to hook up so much.

    I agree that Sherlock can’t be a drama-heavy show anymore, because there isn’t really anything more to say in the way of pure drama. If it comes back it has to go back to crime-solving, like it was in series 1 and 2. Maybe it would work if we just got a special every couple of years or so. Just a straight “A Study in Pink” or “Hounds of Baskerville” style episode once every 2-3 years, until everyone feels that the time is right to do another full-length series again.

    Anyway, I feel like it’s time for me to marathon Sherlock again! xD

    Liked by 1 person

    • OY30 January 17, 2017 / 2:40 pm

      Yes a special every couple of years would be good, but I really think it’d be better if Sherlock ended with all the respect it has earned with these four series, than just keep making seasons because people don’t want to let it go. And as far as Irene Adler’s story with Sherlock, I think it had a proper ending and there’s no need to continue their relationship. A text every year seems nice for them, even though the SherAdler shippers disagree.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. meltingpotsandothercalamities January 16, 2017 / 9:30 pm

    Hmm…my opinion on The Final Problem was mixed, to say the least. The acting was amazing, but there was too much that made little sense. Like, Mycroft acted way out of character to me; he’s been shown to be ruthless. Why would he get so squeamish? And then there was no breathing room; it was like, plot twist, plot twist, shock value, psychological manipulation, emotional manipulation, etc. And then, in my mind, the challenges were pointless. At least in The Great Game, when Sherlock solved the crime, Moriarty would at least let the victims go (for the most part). But even when Sherlock successfully solved the puzzle, nope, the victims still died, which meant that the whole thing was meaningless. It just felt like torture, rather than a mystery. I dunno. And I felt like this was a different Eurus than in the previous episode; in TLD, she was clearly kind of crazy, but she had style. Like Moriarty. But in this, she was just insane, without style. She felt more like a slasher villain than anything else. But I did like the acting, the music, and the epilogue. While I don’t think it was necessary for Mary to narrate, (I’d prefer John or Sherlock) it was a nice nod to the first two seasons. And yeah, I’d like a special in a year or two, just a good-old-fashioned mystery like A Study in Pink. Oof, rant over. I got carried away. Sorry for ranting and rambling.

    Liked by 1 person

    • OY30 January 16, 2017 / 10:23 pm

      Yes it was more like torture, and yeah no breathing room, but I think that was the main point, to show how “screwed up” Eurus was. Although, you’re right, previous Eurus felt crazy with style. I think it was a way of making us believe she would be similar to Moriarty, when she clearly wasn’t. And yeah!!! What the hell Mycroft?? xD
      Some things were left without proper answer too:
      *How did John manage to escape after being shot?
      *What happened right after Baker Street exploded?
      *How did Eurus move Sherlock, John and Mycroft after making the first two fall asleep?

      No need to apologise, I’m open for all kinds of opinions 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • meltingpotsandothercalamities January 17, 2017 / 8:41 am

        I would’ve preferred it if Eurus was crazy with style, because I think that you need to do it that way when you’re creating a villain that level of unbalanced; when you don’t, they seem to be irritating at best, and stomach-turning at worst, kinda like Magnussen or Umbridge from Harry Potter. And yeah, I wanted a resolution to TLD’s cliffhanger. And yeah, how did everyone escape the explosion? And how did John get out of the well when he was in chained? There’s just not enough logic for it to feel like a proper Sherlock episode.

        Liked by 1 person

      • OY30 January 17, 2017 / 2:47 pm

        Yeah I felt it like a Doctor Who ending to be honest…

        Liked by 1 person

      • meltingpotsandothercalamities January 17, 2017 / 9:20 pm

        Huh…oh my gosh. You’re right… It is like Doctor Who from season six though eight. Dang. And wait, you watch Doctor Who? Cool!

        Liked by 1 person

      • OY30 January 17, 2017 / 10:30 pm

        Yeah I do!! You watch it too?

        Like

This is the part where you leave your thoughts, by the way...

